Israel ETA for Countries in Europe

Europe Map

Israel ETA requirements for Europeans – Who needs one to enter Israel?

The ETA (electronic travel authorization) is an online travel document that shows Israeli border officials that you have been cleared to enter. It is sometimes also called the Israeli e-visa. The Israeli ETA is similar to many equivalent programs, such as the American ESTA, which you may already be familiar with.

The advantage of the ETA over other forms of documentation, such as the traditional visa, is that it is less time-consuming to apply for, has higher approval rates, is more affordable, and has a quicker response rate.

The ETA for Israel is intended for visa-exempt countries only. That means that if you have previously entered Israel without the need for any documentation at all, as of 2023, the ETA will be a mandatory requirement to have before you board.

The Israel ETA will remain valid for up to 2 years after issue, and will allow you to stay for short-term tourist visits of up to 90 days.

Do all Europeans require the Israeli e-visa?

No. European countries all have different diplomatic relations with Israel, and therefore not all countries are on the visa-exempt list. Therefore, not all countries are eligible for the e-visa.

Some countries that are located in Europe but require a traditional visa nonetheless include Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo and Turkey.

Visa status of citizens from the European Union countries

The countries of the European Union are all included on the visa exemption list. All citizens of countries belonging to the European Union are therefore required to have approval to enter the country via an ETA when they arrive at the Israeli border.

However, European Union countries are not the only ones in Europe to require this document before entry. The United Kingdom, Iceland, and Norway are just a few examples of non-EU members located on the continent of Europe whose citizens are still visa-exempt, and therefore eligible for the ETA for Israel.

Principalities, Independent Regions and Islands

If you live in a principality, you will need to check whether the ETA is an obligation for you to enter Israel. Most principalities – e.g Andorra, Monaco, and Liechtenstein – are eligible for the visa-exemption program, particularly given their relations with the EU.

Islands, archipelagos and other dependent territories are typically included within the bracket of the state or nation upon which they are dependent. For example, residents of the Channel Islands are able to enter with the ETA under their UK passports.

Check if your country requires an ETA – Israel ETA eligible countries list

These are the countries for which the ETA is a requirement for entering Israel.

• Albania
• Andorra
• Austria
• Belarus
• Belgium
• Bulgaria
• Croatia
• Cyprus
• Czech republic
• Denmark
• Estonia
• Finland
• Hungary
• Iceland
• Ireland
• Latvia
• Liechtenstein
• Lithuania
• Luxemburg
• Macedonia
• Malta
• Man & Canal Islands
• Moldova
• Monaco
• Montenegro
• Norway
• Poland
• Portugal
• Romania
• San Marino
• Serbia
• Slovakia
• Slovenia
• Sweden
• Ukraine

How to get an ETA for Israel?

All you need to do is submit your details using the form. You’ll need to submit personal information, from your name to your passport number. You will be asked to pay a small processing fee.

Once you’ve submitted your application, it will be reviewed by Israeli authorities and sent to you via email upon approval.

The document is electronic, meaning that you won’t need to worry about printing it or having it attached to your passport. You’ll simply show it on your smartphone to the border guard upon request.